Thursday, August 21, 2014

Just Finished Reading...The Cabinet of Couriosities

The Cabinet of Curiosities

Cabinet curator's~ Stefen Bachmann, Claire Legrand, Katherine Catmull, and Emma Trevayne.


A collection of thirty-six eerie, mysterious, intriguing, and very short short stories presented by the cabinet’s esteemed curators, otherwise known as acclaimed authors Stefan Bachmann, Katherine Catmull, Claire LeGrand, and Emma Trevayne. Perfect for fans of Alvin Schwartz and anyone who relishes a good creepy read-alone or read-aloud story. Features an introduction and commentary by the curators, and illustrations and decorations throughout.

Like the cover says, 36 Tales Brief & Sinister. There is so much I loved about this book.

First, several of the stories are either fantasy based or set in a cool old world setting. The settings really help create a fun and creepy mood. 

Second, there is some really great artwork through out the entire book. 

Third, the authors present themselves as curator's of a real cabinet of horrors. Throughout the book they leave letters for one another to serve as warnings of what to do and what not to do with certain artifacts. 

Fourth, the creativity is endless. 

I recommend this book for boys and girls of all ages. Well maybe not all ages, 8 and up. And adults. Oh heck, it's just good, plus it looks good on my shelf.

This photo was taken at Wordstock 2014 in Portland Oregon. This is my friend Victoria Lindstrom posing with Clair, Stefan, and Emma.

1 comment:

  1. That was such a cool experience meeting three of the four contributing authors of The Cabinet of Curiosities. I agree: the book is a great read for fans of the dark and creepy, at any age! Thanks for posting, Kriston.


Blog Design by Imagination Designs all images from the Artist's Faeries kit by Lorie Davison